Concerto For Tuba And Orchestra (for tuba and piano)

Item number: NDV 10706T

Category: duet

20,00 €

including 7% VAT. , no shipping costs

Available now!

Shipping time: 1 - 2 workdays

The Download PDF edition can be purchased at

Concerto for tuba and orchestra
3 movements

Piano reduction

Raymond Premru, Professor of Trombone at the Obertin College Conservatory of Music since 1988, is a wonderfully diverse and consummate musician whose career has brought him world-wide recognition as a performer, composer, conductor and teacher.
A graduate of the Eastman School of Music, where he studied with Emory B. Remington, Mr. Premru was, for 30 years, the bass trombonist of the Philharmonia Orchestra in London.
Active in all aspects of performance, Mr. Premru was a member of the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble and co-founded and co-directed the Bobby Lamb - Ray Premru Big Band.
Also involved as a studio musician, he can be heard on many movie Soundtracks as weil as on recordings with artists such as Oscar Peterson, Ella Fitzgerald, Frank Sinatra, The Beatles and The Rolling Stones.
An active composer, Premru has written many works and his music has been performed by the Cleveland Orchestra, the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, the Philadelphia Orchestra, the London Symphony Orchestra, the BBC Philharmonie, the Philharmonia Orchestra, and numerous others.
Teaching has always been part of Mr. Premru's life. He has served on the faculties of the Guildhall School of Music in London and the Eastman School of Music, prior to his joining the faculty at Oberlin.
Also, he has presented clinics and master classes throughout the world.
In addition to his teaching responsibilities, Mr. Premru continues his broad musical activities.
He has appeared as soloist with the U.S. Navy Band performing his Trombone Concerto and has made guest appearances in concerts and recordings with the eleveland Orchestra and most recently, the New York Philharmonie.
Premru's Concerto for Tuba and Orchestra was composed in the winter and spring of 1991/92 and was commissioned by the Tubist Universal Brotherhood Association in memory of John Fletcher to whom the work is dedicated.
It is fitting that the composer should have been asked to write this work as he had been a close friend of Fletcher and had played with him in the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble and in various orchestras for over twenty years.
Premru was trying to find a way to honor the memory of his friend when T.U.B.A. commissioned the work.
The concerto is in three movements and has a duration of approximately twentythree minutes. It was premiered at the T.U.B.A. workshop at the University of Kentucky in Lexington on the 12th of May, 1992 with James Gourlay as the soloist with the Lexington Philharmonie Orchestra, conducted by the composer.

instrumentation: tuba and piano
Genre: Contemporary
difficulty: 6=very difficult
edition: piano score, solo sheet
product weight: 0,20 Kg
author / composer: Raymond Premru
playing time: 00:23:00
extent: 52 pages
year of publication: 2022
ISMN: 9790502882280
publishing number: NDV 10706T

Average product review

Write your first review and help others with their purchase decision: